Feed on
Posts
Comments
Spring forward, Fall back.

In their never end attempts to defraud you, Internet scamers are always coming up with a new way to grab your attention, getting you to click on a poisoned URL that will attempt to invade your machine/steal personal information from you.

One successfully caught my attention today with the subject “New email address added to your PayPal account”. Clever, because it gets you thinking that someone’s already got in to your account. Closer inspection revealed the “PayPal” URL actually takes you to a Web server only referred to with a URL “82.0.192.2″ - clearly not run by PayPal. A TraceRoute makes it even more clear it’s nothing to do with PayPal when you realise the host is hanging off what looks like a machine connected to the NTL network, probably in Nottingham.

10 17 ms 16 ms 15 ms nott-lam-1-pos1200.inet.ntl.com [80.1.79.142]
11 26 ms 26 ms 26 ms 62.254.28.154
12 21 ms 20 ms 20 ms 82.0.192.2

I’ve dropped a quick mail to abuse (at) NTL.com to alert them.

It appears that this isn’t that new. If you get one of these, just hit the delete key.

Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • blogmarks
  • co.mments
  • del.icio.us
  • De.lirio.us
  • digg
  • Fark
  • Furl
  • NewsVine
  • RawSugar
  • Reddit
  • Simpy
  • Spurl
  • TailRank
  • Wists
  • YahooMyWeb

 Votes | Average: 0 out of 5 Votes | Average: 0 out of 5 Votes | Average: 0 out of 5 Votes | Average: 0 out of 5 Votes | Average: 0 out of 5 (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...

One Response to “New email address added to your PayPal account - Phishing spam”

  1. on 15 Aug 2007 at 11:10 am Computer Security Tips

    Computer Security Tips…

    I couldn’t understand some parts of this article, but it sounds interesting…

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply